Past Award Winners

The IABC Bronze Quill Awards recognize outstanding employee communications, public relations, media relations, community relations, government affairs and marketing communication efforts. The IABC/Topeka Bronze Quill Awards are open to all communicators – members and non-members alike – in the corporate, nonprofit, advertising, marketing and government sectors.

2017 Winners:

Award of Excellence
• Annie Flachsbarth with Advisors Excel - Feature Writing Category - "The Holland Group Joins the Battle Against Soldier Suicide" 
• Chris Marshall – Feature Writing Category - "The Ideal Atmosphere" 
• Topeka Chamber of Commerce – Wildcard category - Expedition Des Moines 

Award of Merit
• Kelsey Smith with Advisors Excel - Multiple Materials Category - Market Corrctions Booklet
• Kansas Wheat - Magazine Category - Rediscover Wheat

2015 Winners:

Award of Excellence
• Annie Flachsbarth with Advisors Excel - feature writing category – "It’s a Numbers Game"
• Julia Debes with Kansas Wheat - technical writing category – "Not Gluten Free, but Celiac Safe"
• Tamara Taylor with FHLBank Topeka -corporate/industrial video category – Community Leader Award video
• Kim Gronniger, Carol Bradbury, Catharine Bradbury and Kate Larison – wild card category - Topeka Zoo Camp Cowabunga materials

Award of Merit
• Jones Huyett Partners – external campaign category - Blue Cross Blue Shield Go Blue Campaign
• Nicole Lane with Kansas Wheat – magazine category - Rediscover Wheat
• Becky Moore, Marcy Maurath and Stacie Grobolshek with Capitol Federal – direct mail category - Blue Bucks Kids CD
• Jordan Hildenbrand with Kansas Wheat - feature writing category – "The Truth about Herbicides in Wheat"
• Colin MacMillan, Dan Holmgren, Dusty Thomas and Jaclyn Collins with Imagemakers Inc. -corporate/industrial video category - Exline video
• Becky Moore, Mary Lenz and Rene Blake with Capitol Federal - sales/marketing/advertising video category – Capitol Federal 120-year Celebration
• Washburn University Foundation - Intranet/Internet design category - 150 Forward: Campaign for Washburn University website

Communicator of the Year
The IABC Communicator of the Year Award is bestowed annually to a communications professional who demonstrates vision, leadership, creativity and dedication in their commitment to their profession, their organization and the communications industry in general.
• Sarah Towle, communications strategist, Washburn University Foundation; adjunct lecturer, mass media department at Washburn University

EXCEL Award 
The IABC Excellence in Communication Leadership (EXCEL) Award recognizes contributions to business communication by an organizational leader who is not a member of IABC. These contributions include such achievements as initiating, directing, supporting or sustaining outstanding and effective communication programs.
• Jim Leiker, president and chief executive officer, Easter Seals Capper Foundation